Mackenzie River Basin Transboundary Waters Master Agreement

Canada, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and Yukon (the governments with jurisdiction to manage water and the environment in the Mackenzie River Basin) have signed the Mackenzie River Basin Transboundary Waters Master Agreement. It came into effect in July 1997.

The agreement commits all six governments to work together more closely to manage the water resources of the whole Mackenzie River Basin.

The agreement is founded on five guiding principles for cooperative management:

  • Equitable Utilization
  • Prior Consultation
  • Sustainable Development
  • Maintenance of Ecological Integrity
  • Resolving Issues

The agreement makes provision for neighbouring jurisdictions to negotiate bilateral water management agreements to address water issues at jurisdictional boundaries on transboundary streams and to provide parameters on the quality, quantity and flow of water.

The six governments fund the Board’s annual operational budget.